# TENSAS BASIN LEVEE DISTRICT REGULAR MEETING



Board of Commissioners Tuesday, November 09, 2021 at 10:30 AM 505 District Drive Monroe, LA

# **MINUTES**

In compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations / during this meeting should notify the Tensas Basin Levee District Board of Commissioners at 318-323-1130 at least three working days before the meeting.

#### **Call to Order**

#### **Roll Call**

Mr. Drew Keahey, President, called the meeting to order and requested the Secretary call roll with the following present and answering:

#### PRESENT

Commissioner Mike Calloway
Commissioner Dustin Morris
Commissioner Ashley Peters
Commissioner Antwain Downs
President Drew Keahey
Vice President Rodney Hutchins
Commissioner Kenneth Wilson
Commissioner Dick Zeagler

Commissioner Robert Neal Harwell

### **ABSENT**

Commissioner Johnny Turner Commissioner Michelle Collum

Others in attendance were: Ms. Susan Douglas, DOTD; Mr. Dylan McIntosh, DOTD; Mr. Max Tullos, CORP Vicksburg; Mr. Michael Street, Attorney, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. John Stringer, Executive Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Brandon Waggoner, Assistant Director, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Matt Varnell, Maintenance Supervisor, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Justin Holloway, Maintenance Supervisor, Tensas Basin Levee District; Mr. Jason McMillan, Levee District Police.

### Prayer

## **Pledge of Allegiance**

President Drew Keahey opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

## **Public Comment on Agenda Items**

### **Action**

Motion made by Vice President Hutchins, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

## **RESOLUTION**

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby declare that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting of October, 2021 is hereby dispensed with and declared approved as published in the official journal of this board, The Richland Beacon News.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Peters, Seconded by Commissioner Morris and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

## RESOLUTION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve all bills approved by the claims committee for October 2021.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary

Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, Seconded by Commissioner Harwell and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

### **RESOLUTION**

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District authorizes the Secretary and President to advertise for bids for repairs: Ouachita River Levee Floodwall, West Monroe Local Protection and Jonesville Local Protection for stop logs for the flood wall gaps.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED those bids shall be received by date still to be determined, at the office of the Tensas Basin Levee District, 505 District Drive, Monroe, La. 71202-6862, at which time bids shall be opened and read aloud.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Zeagler, Seconded by Commissioner Morris and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

#### RESOLUTION

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby ratify purchase of Ouachita Parish School Board property at Logtown School Rd.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, Seconded by Vice President Hutchins and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

### **RESOLUTION**

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby authorize the Tensas Basin Levee District enter into a contract with an Architect for the new facility construction.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Motion made by Commissioner Calloway, Seconded by Commissioner Zeagler and passed unanimously by the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District, after President Drew Keahey called for public comments and there were none, to-wit:

### **RESOLUTION**

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Commissioners of the Tensas Basin Levee District does hereby approve the funding for construction of the new facility to be inhouse funding.

Naomi Eppinette Secretary Drew Keahey President

Agenda Item 7 has been extracted from the agenda.

Requests

**Presentations** 

**Items for Discussion** 

# **Update on Levee Projects**

Brandon Waggoner stated all four pump stations now have generators in place. Davis Lake pump station project is held up by FEMA. Womack Construction getting materials to begin the discharge pipe projects.

## **Financial Statements**

## **Public Comment**

Mr. Brandon Waggoner thanked the Board for the support with the pay structure increase for employees.

Mr. Justin Holloway said both Monroe and Jonesville crews were finishing up summer projects getting prepared for the winter weather.

Mr. Drew Keahey advised there would be no meeting in December.

## **Adjourn**